My Neighborhood: Spanish Harlem

Spanish Harlem has been  my home away from home since I moved from Rio de Janeiro to New York. The vibrant community embraces a myriad of immigrants from the South America countries. It is the home of the many Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, Africans, Brazilians,  Equatorians, Chineses, Caribeans, Italians, and Afro-americans as well as a multitude of people and cultures.

“El Barrio” és como una cancion …”para mim”! Since I moved in 1987 this is where I come home away from home!  I settled down here and all my dreams came true! “El Barrio” also a nick name for the place is the “soul” and “spirit” of “the latino people”. The melting pot of South America collides together with music, rythm, culinary and culture. It allways remind me of Brazil! 

Leave a Reply

